Short Journal #02 — Generation Gap.

Eugenia Clara F.
6 min readAug 9, 2016

--

A few months back, I was assigned as a creative to work on a social media activity that required us to take our own stock photo for the key visuals. Due to limited budget from client and very short timeline— we can’t outsource talent so we have to utilize our own internal team. Then again, we didn’t have any other choice since the photos need to be submitted by 10 am tomorrow morning. #agencylife.

So I picked my business manager, art director, designer, and a guy from different subsidiary to volunteer as model. They were fit to the ‘sporty and group of friends that get healthy together’ category. That was the main theme for the photo shoot.

The client approved their looks, and we proceed to the photograph session. With our business manager’s car we went to the closest public sport field.

There were 5 of us. The Business manager, Art Director, Designer- they’re around 23 to 26 years old. Around the same age with me. So let’s say, we’re the working millennial. This one guy from different subsidiary, he’s in his early thirties, maybe he born around 1984–1985. But he had this baby face (no facial hair, and hairstyle like a youngster), people won’t recognize his age in a glance. He looks like he’s 24–26 years old so he fell to the ‘sporty young adult’ category. Fit just right to the theme.

It was 3 PM, the sun was in its prime time. It’s an open space, grass field with running track on the side, with so little shade to rest your body. Everybody’s squinting, but we gotta work. My decision to wear my favorite hoodie wasn’t right but I gotta commit to the aesthetic since I have a statement written in the front of my thick wool hoodie.

Click, click, click.

I did my best to direct the photo and shoot. And the Business Manager also helped since she’s the one who deal with the client, she pretty much know about the client’s taste.

We took the photo on the spectator seat. We took photos on the stairs, on the hall, on the running track under the bright sun, on the grass, from feet perspective to the eye level all-side shot. From jumping as high as you can to the ‘everybody casually hug and fake laugh’. We did almost everything, everything to make decent stock photos to fulfill client’s need.

“I think we had enough cool poses for the stock. What else, ya?” I asked the team. I tried to involve everyone in the process; cause their opinion matter, and they might add valuable insight to this sporty-photo session. You know, since I’m not a sporty person.

Then, this guy from different subsidiary, let’s say his name is Bob, had a suggestion.

“Let’s take one shot, we stood here,” He pointed at the grass, “Facing this direction,” then he pointed to the east.

“But it’s almost sunset, it’s going to be backlight.” I confuse.

“Yeah, you can adjust the contrast later, but let’s try catch the dynamic angle.”

“Ah, ok.”

Then the four of them stood close to each other with their backs to the sun, strike a pose with a smize. Bob also directed them a little bit. But, ah, backlight.

“Okay wait I’m adjusting the camera,” I tried to umm, balance between their face to not too silhouette-y, and also not over-brightness-y the sky.

“I’m not sure about the lighting but let’s just try, in 5, 4….”

While I countdown, suddenly Bob squat a bit, and he pointed to south with a determined smile. The kind of hollow smile with shimmering eyes pointed to the horizon like it’s their dreams they’re catching.

This is just the illustrated pose. Apologize for my illustration skill. I doodle in hurry. But just so you get the point.

I kid you not, I stunned in silence behind the viewfinder. My jaw dropped a little bit. And I wasn’t the only one.

“Tilt the angle a bit,” He shouted.

Seconds later I took several photographs of them. The result, while I did my best to keep a straight face, “It didn’t work. Too backlighty. Too contrasty. Unless if it’s a sillhouette shot. We can’t catch both perfect lighting. We didn’t bring the lighting equipment anyway.”

Bob approached and looked into the camera, “Ah, I see. Yeah, it didn’t work out. It’s a cool pose, tho.”

I exchanged look with my business manager. She must thought the same thing with me. Bob didn’t strike a cool pose, not like the rapper style pointing high at the sky thanking something up above, or dabbing, no, not even close to it. But simply, just pointing at something with a smile. I couldn’t find the closest image to represent what it is actually— but it’s pretty much (60% close) like this one. It’s not coordinated, in any way it did not corporate the current sport and friends activity theme. The 2016 trend isn’t like this. Tilted angle is a no, especially for general shot, that is required for stock that later may or may not be used on promotional purpose.

Typical soul-less stock-photo-y.

The brand we’re working is most known for the millennials buddies, the current, the nowness. Of course adjusting the current trend in brand appearance, including in pose direction for photographs, is a must and had to match the ongoing fad.

The pose Bob suggested was the signature early 2000s group shot pose. Remember the Meteor Rain craze earlier 2000? Or anything that exist on late 90-early 00? That’s the vibe he tried to convey. If you’re familiar with Indonesian culture, it’s the pose of late 90s- early 2000s band shot. Cheesy, dreamy, a bit cringey, good for laugh, skewed angle, group shot with one member pointing random direction as if they tried to convince the universe that they’re fine.

It’s just.. it’s just so 10 years ago. I get it, ten years ago Bob was in his early 20. It is cool… in his era. But… it’s not.. for now.

“OMG I’m so sorry but It’s not cool.” I shouted deep inside my heart, internally.

That moment, I realized.

I never thought I’m going to be that person of the generation. That generation that can’t help but cringe a little bit ‘That is ancient’, ‘this is old school’, ‘this is so ten years ago’, ‘that is not cool’ to an opinion/ thing.

But I almost did.

Despite only no more than 7 years older from us, the generation gap somewhat felt real in that minute. In Indonesia, the term is… Beda zaman. Beda generasi. I mean, of course, generation gap did exist no matter you want it or not. But, it’s just never felt this real to a person that’s not even 10 years older than us.

But I don’t think it’s glued to the age, since age is just a number. I knew a 37 years old individual that acknowledge latest trend (not all, but decent enough). Although he did not follow, he acknowledges it.

Maybe it’s not about age, maybe it’s soul. Or tendency to not keeping up to the current trend. Since we’re on advertising agency; it’s highly encouraged to come up with new things that maybe not exist yet, but not recycling trend from the recently expired one. Especially since we’re all in such fast-pace industry, the advertising agency, where trends are required.

Somebody told me once that the trend that is acceptable to recycle is at least 20 years old. Not ten. Not even 5. I’m not sure if it’s valid, but it sort of makes sense…. for now.

Whoah. The writing is longer than I expected. But, you know, sometimes it’s the little thing that happen in life that brings such clarity. Ever since that photoshoot, I never saw him the same way again. Not in a bad way; it’s just… he made me realized something I can’t explain simply. FYI he’s the senior director in creative department in that subsidiary next door.

I didn’t fond of the generation gap concept. But.. the way he tried to direct a photo in that day gave me quite an insight of “what’s cool to your generation maybe not cool to the now” which is important since he’s the senior creative that had the competency to give creative direction.

Let’s say if you’re in the hypening industry that deal with a lot of people; representing a brand. It’s important to have a lead that acknowledge the current fad- flexible enough to adjusting to the trend, without losing the identity… right?

Huh, look at me. A borderline millennial tried to talk about generation gap’s taste differences.

Short Journal is a series of shortly elaborated thoughts, opinion, homage, anything; from real live events — turned into a medium post. Will update periodically, and mostly about personal experience with the people around me, online or offline.

--

--

Eugenia Clara F.

Wears Heart on the Sleeve. Multifaceted creatives/ bunch of things into one.